Samsung Z Fold 3 Review: Let's Talk Ambition!

Published on Aug 20, 2021
Views 2 810 817
2 000

Samsung Z Fold 3 is the second best folding phone on earth for a reason.
That shirt! shop.MKBHD.com
dbrand: dbrand.com/fold3

Tech I'm using right now: www.amazon.com/shop/MKBHD

Intro Track: youtube.com/20syl
Playlist of MKBHD Intro music: goo.gl/B3AWV5

Phone provided by Samsung for review.

~
MKBHD
MKBHD
MKBHD

Marques Brownlee
Comments  
  • Avril vril

    Avril vril

    3 hours ago

    i dont like it

  • NONAME

    NONAME

    3 hours ago

    Because you have the phone free and you don’t use the phone for a lot of time like like a year using purpose is not like a regular people call typing and sending email pictures post comments and this is a heavy problem for the z fold

  • Bochi Loch

    Bochi Loch

    4 hours ago

    There should be an option where you can use the front screen when unfolded so you can use the good camera for a selfie

  • A toda madre

    A toda madre

    6 hours ago

    I'll just hold out for a company to come out with something a bit closer to the Huawei Mate X2 or I'll wait for your review of the Duo 2.

  • Muyanzi Reid

    Muyanzi Reid

    12 hours ago

    I rather wait for the Surface Duo 2 you get bigger screens and a better camera.

  • Phil Nolan

    Phil Nolan

    13 hours ago

    I was interested in the Fold 1 and 2 but was waiting for the s pen. I am willing to take some features like camera and battery down a notch to have a tablet I can draw on in my pocket.

  • Phil Nolan

    Phil Nolan

    13 hours ago

    Got mine ordered, I'll be waiting over a month.

  • Orion Smith

    Orion Smith

    13 hours ago

    Oh look a super delicate flip phone

  • Blox Dog

    Blox Dog

    14 hours ago

    If the folds ever get cheaper and better, I’ll buy one.

  • Pankaj Kumar

    Pankaj Kumar

    20 hours ago

    Z axis

  • Edgar Hernandez

    Edgar Hernandez

    Day ago

    Big bird loves you bro

  • edward ak levi

    edward ak levi

    Day ago

    Its too narrow and tall , how i am supposed to watch those thick ass on reddit

  • ROCK ISLAND LIFE

    ROCK ISLAND LIFE

    Day ago

    You look pretty young so I'll give you a pass. There have been many "awkward " size/shaped phones before this.

  • ROCK ISLAND LIFE

    ROCK ISLAND LIFE

    Day ago

    You look pretty young so I'll give you a pass. There have been many "awkward " size/shaped phones before this.

  • Gabriel Song

    Gabriel Song

    Day ago

    The foldable phone is still young. I will wait until it is ready.

  • dan english

    dan english

    Day ago

    Likely to be stolen from younger gen, hopefully nobody gets hurt.

  • Pedro O

    Pedro O

    Day ago

    the z-fold is the best phone in the world. period. the front screen is perfect! why is it narrow? because they phone is thick, not everyone has your giant hands Marques

  • Trinity Rose

    Trinity Rose

    Day ago

    As I'm watching the video off the fold 3 😁 😁 😁

  • Alfonso Meneses

    Alfonso Meneses

    Day ago

    I'm not sure if I agree with you, you cannot compare it with a normal smart phone, because it is not. This is simply a smart phone capable of becoming a little tablet. That is it.

  • atilla hun

    atilla hun

    Day ago

    S21 Ultra is 6.8 inch, Z fold 3 is 7.6 inch, all the drawbacks doesn't worth for 0.8 inch extra display.

  • Adam Goebel

    Adam Goebel

    Day ago

    Way too expensive. Was wondering about a folding phone to compliment a phone as a mini tablet. Eh...considering the tab s7 and iPad pro is way less expensive with all the pro features.........not worth it at all!!

    • goodtyme

      goodtyme

      Day ago

      becasue its a phone AND tablet. not just a phone or just a tablet. its priced as if you were buying both

  • Crazier 98

    Crazier 98

    Day ago

    I only considered buying this bcoz i'm planning to buy an ipad and a new phone, with this being more "practical". But the fold really feels quite smaller than your regular phones when folded (vs the J8 my sister owned, with its screen width the smallest i know vs its height ratio). So i have to think hard before buying this or an ipad and a new phone 😂

  • Tyler S

    Tyler S

    Day ago

    6:32 AAAAAH BREAKING THE FOURTH WALL

  • Ghazi Tozri

    Ghazi Tozri

    Day ago

    i came here from THE Studio

  • NES

    NES

    Day ago

    is that intro music from your in house producer? Very dope sounds!

  • Starting From The Bottom

    Starting From The Bottom

    2 days ago

    I really want it but I feel like I would destroy it because I can't put it in a real case

  • Matthew B

    Matthew B

    2 days ago

    Dual thumbs typing in 2021? I thought everyone made the switch to swipe by now. Far superior for typing on screens.

  • Jews_rule

    Jews_rule

    2 days ago

    This phone so bad man smh

    • goodtyme

      goodtyme

      Day ago

      have you even seen one in person? i actually own one and its easily the best phone ive owned

  • victor 91

    victor 91

    2 days ago

    took the plunge now got to learn how to swim

  • Jason Feller

    Jason Feller

    2 days ago

    The battery life really is bad, it's kinda heavy, but otherwise, it's a really cool phone. Maybe not for $1,800, but definitely for $300 and my Galaxy s20+ as a trade in.

  • ion

    ion

    2 days ago

    The fold = Nintendo DS
    The flip = Nintendo Gameboy Advance SP

  • THE LOGIC ONLY ZONE

    THE LOGIC ONLY ZONE

    2 days ago

    I want one of these with no outer screen. I would use it as my only device. No tablet, laptop, or anything else. Connect a Bluetooth mouse/keyboard when home, and I’m good to go for anything I need a device for, and it can fit in my pocket. I would settle for no fold, and just a tablet of this size. The new iPad mini almost fits my needs, but still a bit too big. Love the size of this display when opened.

  • flashlepard

    flashlepard

    2 days ago

    What phone was marques using @ 2:20? Was it pixel or oneplus?

  • Anand Jhaveri

    Anand Jhaveri

    2 days ago

    It's the freshest phone I have used in years. Absolutely love it. No idea how I am going to use normal phones ever again!

    • Die Hard Padres Fan

      Die Hard Padres Fan

      4 hours ago

      Same

  • Adesoji Awoyemi

    Adesoji Awoyemi

    3 days ago

    Did I hear you say $1790 to get one? That is my paycheck for 2 months!

  • Muyanzi Reid

    Muyanzi Reid

    3 days ago

    The Microsoft Surface Duo 2 is absolutely the Z Fold 3 Killer....
    -Bigger Screens: for example just one of the screens is almost the same size of the Z fold in full screen.
    -Better Camera Specs.
    -Similar battery but Better battery life if you don't use both screens all the time.
    -Better Camera specs.
    - more durable senses actually gorilla glass instead of that fake plastic folding glass.
    - Way more usable Phone mode screen.
    - Cheaper price: almost $200 cheaper after tax
    - Surface Pen magnetic sticks onto the bumper which doesn't happen on any of the Z fold 3 cases.

  • austin ermis

    austin ermis

    3 days ago

    I 100% agree… while I think the Fold is a cool device, it definitely needs a lot more work. I have always used the Galaxy Note series since the Note5. (With exception to the S8 and my spare S7 which I got as a replacement for my Note7). I really having th S Pen holder integrated into the phone. I considered getting the S21 Ultra, but, as it is with the Fold, there is no where to put that S Pen, and it the S Pen Air gestures don’t work.

  • Joshua Garcia

    Joshua Garcia

    3 days ago

    Solution: Fold 4 Pro

  • Lindsay Rivera

    Lindsay Rivera

    4 days ago

    Best thing in this video I seen is that Tesla S Plaid 😳 😍 damn!!!

  • Jordan Hardy

    Jordan Hardy

    4 days ago

    I told myself when 2nd gen came out I'd wait for the 3rd... I guess now I'll have to wait for the 4th or 5th gen😪

    • 32poppa savage

      32poppa savage

      3 days ago

      You missing out

  • Usama Munir

    Usama Munir

    4 days ago

    Do not take it anywhere near a beach.
    That is the end of the video for me.
    Thank you very much.

  • A S

    A S

    4 days ago

    Can you unbox the iPad mini 6?

  • Bird New

    Bird New

    4 days ago

    dude said this overpriced phone is ambitious lol

    • goodtyme

      goodtyme

      3 days ago

      it's a phone and tablet so its the same price as a phone and tablet. expensive, but not overpriced

  • よしナカムラ

    よしナカムラ

    4 days ago

    The problem with the Z Fold 3, it does not get the Verizon Ultrawide Band MM/WV...
    I have two of the Z Fold 3 phones and they both do not get UWB as advertised,
    Only 4G and 5G Nationwide. My older phone Note10 5G get the ultra Wide Band my Tab S7+ also get the 5G Ultra Wide Band and the Nationwide 5G.

  • D Kirk

    D Kirk

    4 days ago

    Fold 3 bites, half day battery life, greasy inner screen, doesn't lay flat, not ready for prime time!

    • 32poppa savage

      32poppa savage

      3 days ago

      All lies

  • big weener

    big weener

    4 days ago

    I got the fold and am typing on it rn. It's pretty sweet

  • AMD85

    AMD85

    4 days ago

    I just placed a order for mine. Lets gooooo! 🙌

  • Mr Davis

    Mr Davis

    4 days ago

    I'll pass..NOPE

  • Small Fry

    Small Fry

    5 days ago

    THERE IS 6K + COMMENTS HERE AND THE CHANCES ARE EXTREMELY THIN BUT,,,, SAMSUNG, BRING THE NOTE SERIES BACK!! THERE SHOULD BE A LAWSUIT IN THERE SOMEWHERE FOR EMOTIONAL TRAUMA!!!!! THE S PEN IS EVEN MORE "GIMMICKY". ATLEAST WITH THE NOTE YOU HAD IT THERE, BUILT IN. AND DAMN IT IT WAS PRACTICAL, TACTICAL AND JUST MADE/MAKES SENSE!!! SERIOUSLY!! SAMSUNG MAY BE LOOSING MY LOYALTY HERE. AND I KNOW FOR A FACT IM NOT ALONE!!. JUAT LOOK AT ALL THE CLICK BAIT OF S22'S FLOATING ARIUND AND HOW MANY VIEWS THEY GET!!! SAMSUNG , WTF ....
    Sincerely.
    - in all caps

  • Rich VR

    Rich VR

    5 days ago

    "Samsung Z Fold 3 is the second best folding phone on earth for a reason." Sorry if I missed anything already said but please let me know which is the FIRST best folding phone on earth. I currently have the Note 8. Should I stay with the Note line or is the Fold 3 enough reason to upgrade. Thank you in advance.

  • Mitko Mikov

    Mitko Mikov

    5 days ago

    I think next year they will fix all small things and the phone will be extremely good. Great job SAMSUNG brilliant engaging respect.

  • Miguel Angel Figueroa Rivera

    Miguel Angel Figueroa Rivera

    5 days ago

    This phone is absolutely fantastic! And getting a bigger car phone mount, is also great. Driving around with the phone opened, is something else.

  • protector of planet earth

    protector of planet earth

    5 days ago

    it’s cool but personally I believe this will always be the “ohhh you got the samsung fold one”

  • Josh Spinks

    Josh Spinks

    5 days ago

    Reminds me of a Nintendo DS

  • Heru Setiabudi

    Heru Setiabudi

    5 days ago

    No aftermarket phones case for this phone ? I always drop the phone.

  • ain dubai

    ain dubai

    5 days ago

    Samsung are cheating the customer.. I bought new z fold .. one you pay .. you lose you money..they have to open the seal cover .. it is not optional.. Once open you can not gift it or sale it. Funny thing they don't inform you in advance about this protocol.. I'm very disappointed from that . I lost 7200 dirhams after 2hr of paying this device as gift and my family did not like it and now I can't sale it except with big loss ..

  • Cxeri93

    Cxeri93

    5 days ago

    not gonna lie it looks amazing, but a tank in the pocket.
    imagine this phone but twice as thin!!!!

  • Deepneil Samaddar

    Deepneil Samaddar

    5 days ago

    Got the flip 3 cream 256 variant, enjoying the one goal

  • William Freire

    William Freire

    6 days ago

    Great practical evaluation! Keep going!

  • Prince /

    Prince /

    6 days ago

    Since I was a kid to this day, I'm still waiting for a phone, tablet, and desktop (when docked) all in one device.

    • Random User

      Random User

      Day ago

      @Matt R dex just imitates the user interface of a desktop. Wake me up when it can run desktop apps

    • austin ermis

      austin ermis

      3 days ago

      @Matt R that was an improvement over my Note 8 which required a special dock for the phone… by Dex is quite useful..

    • Matt R

      Matt R

      4 days ago

      Samsung DeX my guy. Plugged my S10+ into my windows pc and it automatically asked to download it. I did, and it let's you use your phone and most of its features with a keyboard and mouse

  • Tareq Ziad

    Tareq Ziad

    6 days ago

    Time and date widget name please

  • David Duncan

    David Duncan

    6 days ago

    I would just like to comment as i have got the fold 2 and had it for over a year now, its fantastic. You get used to it pretty quickly size wise. The hinge still opertates as new, the crease you cant see when you look at it dead on as you would normally do in everyday use. Granted you can see it when you look at from the side but how often do you do that? The "small" screen can be a little funny to use, mainly typing (big fingers) but over all it aint as bad as people make out, plus you barely use it anyway. The main screen is fantastic and perfect, personally not encountered an app that does not work on the full screen however im sure they are out there. You either want it or you don't but if you do, you won't regret it. The main draw back is the weight, if you wearing a loose pair of shorts or sweat pants, make sure your wearing underwear! Thats all i'm gonna say about that ;)

  • smokeman1493

    smokeman1493

    6 days ago

    As cool as the fold is... I still think I want the flip.

  • Mr.Kustumz

    Mr.Kustumz

    6 days ago

    I just went and looked in my Verizon store at the z fold 3 and that phone had the hole punch instead of the underscreen display this z fold 3 has

  • Michael LaRocco

    Michael LaRocco

    6 days ago

    I use onedrive mostly. On a phone it's free to create docs and edit but on a tablet you have to purchase a subscription for 365. Does anyone know it's still free on the Z fold 3?

  • Magdalena Maria Jurkowski

    Magdalena Maria Jurkowski

    6 days ago

    I LOVE THIS PHONE!!!!!! MY NEXT PURCHASE :)

  • Brian Leay

    Brian Leay

    6 days ago

    Hey Marques,
    you’re a business owner. You project manage and have many company meetings. How does this phone help you do your job better? Or maybe it doesn’t. Could you convince us why people who run businesses might want this?
    Thanks
    Brian

  • Mr Pabs

    Mr Pabs

    6 days ago

    I preordered this phone and upon arrival and inspection it only took me 5 minutes to realized that I am wasting money. How much better can phones really get, I have the s21 ultra and this thing is does much more than what I need it to do for me. From now on I will not upgrade anymore unless someone comes up with something so revolutionary that I will have to jump in the bus. Anyways, I ended up returning the fold 3 the very same day I received it.

  • Gloryan Headman

    Gloryan Headman

    7 days ago

    Man I like the rev. but please if you talk about cameras and image quality, please compare it with iPhone max, s21ultra or other top cam phones in this price range 😉✌️ just for a 10 sec.

    • Gloryan Headman

      Gloryan Headman

      6 days ago

      @J S as for me I think that iPhone is da best in Video\Photo but will wait for s22ultra and Pixel6, I wold prefer Android more for work because of the open file system. If google and Samsung will not do anything special I would go for iPhone but will have a second Android for my needs, because iPhone has a limited file access.

    • J S

      J S

      6 days ago

      There are video's made solely on that subject. Fold 3 comes out ahead against the Iphone 13 line despite having worse hardware, because of the software algorithms Samsung used.

  • Trippen

    Trippen

    7 days ago

    This phone is so bad 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 nobody gonna say it?

    • goodtyme

      goodtyme

      3 days ago

      I have one and it's the best phone I've owned

  • GrimmyReaper

    GrimmyReaper

    7 days ago

    Why don't they go wider and shorter? Would make the outside screen better and inside more tablet like

  • Tobenna Okoli

    Tobenna Okoli

    7 days ago

    Well his kids are definitely getting the BEST Christmas gifts.
    Can I get a “getting an iPhone 20, iPad Max Pro, and MacBook Ocean all before the age of 1!!!”

  • E. L.

    E. L.

    7 days ago

    I've been really thinking about exchanging my phone for a Fold 3 because it would really fit my current use case. But I'll probably wait for the Fold 4.

  • Sacha McTootle Whitaker

    Sacha McTootle Whitaker

    7 days ago

    I Love it ❤

  • chinmay kansara

    chinmay kansara

    7 days ago

    Apple-Samsung what a scam bro

    • chinmay kansara

      chinmay kansara

      7 days ago

      🤦‍♂️

  • chinmay kansara

    chinmay kansara

    7 days ago

    Bro, might just get MacBook Pro '14 for it's closeness to Steve Jobs handprint of design

  • Mr. Cop&Swap

    Mr. Cop&Swap

    7 days ago

    Oh forgot the cameras, I now understand why the cameras aren't the best and I'm not too mad anymore. This is a very difficult phone to take pics with for 2 reasons, #1 you will always want to use the phone flipped out to take pics but taking pics with a mini tablet feels weird and not natural. #2 if you take a pic with the phone closed you don't know how the pic will transform and look once you open it to the big screen. On the z fold 2 when u did this the pic looked skinny and weird so you were forced to open it up and take pics. Hopefully samsung fixed this

  • Mr. Cop&Swap

    Mr. Cop&Swap

    7 days ago

    That's the part that killed me, they upgrade the front screen when NOBODY likes it anyway so 60hz was just fine. But to make the battery smaller on a mini tablet phone was stupid. Look yes this is a damn brick in your pocket but this is the most baller phone ever. I still have my z fold 2 and my wife said are u gonna upgrade and I was about to but once they said smaller battery I was like hell no bc in 3hrs of looking at movies or YouTube my battery is damn near dead so no. Then comes the s pen, when they said s pen in the z fold 3 I knew the Note line was dead and this was gonna take over...until I unfolded my z fold 2 and said how in the hell will they be able to put a pen in this thin phone? The s pen from the note 20 is almost the length of the phone so that's when I found out if they aren't shrinking the s pen then that's a no go. I still love the z fold 3 but not over my z fold 2, I hope the z fold 4 will be better and they make a mini s pen, change the battery back or make it bigger, and find a way to make it all the way water and dust proof.

    • J S

      J S

      6 days ago

      You can run the main and front screen in 60hz to save battery

  • André Campos

    André Campos

    7 days ago

    Seems a nice phablet though

  • Kangen Water Sifoo

    Kangen Water Sifoo

    7 days ago

    Thanks for the awesome video,I really loved foldable and thank Samsung for pioneering foldable but my z fold 2 front screen is really hard to use no matter single or double handed especially during daily texting, I really hope next gen will come with a wider front screen and improvements on aspect ratio as so many pic and video become either too big or too small in the main screen

  • Alberts stuff

    Alberts stuff

    7 days ago

    Lol all I wanted to see was video/movies/YouTube playing on full screen 😬

  • Reeve Pelts

    Reeve Pelts

    7 days ago

    any new phone, TV, laptop or monitor. I play an MKBHD video to just enjoy the crisps.

  • Tshidi Tseke

    Tshidi Tseke

    7 days ago

    I am a Note lover and the only reason I considered the Fold is for the s pen.... i dont get why samsung is killing the line

  • E-Mal

    E-Mal

    8 days ago

    11:26 what are you doing 😂

  • Stephanie T

    Stephanie T

    8 days ago

    💙💙💙

  • GAMERGUY1977

    GAMERGUY1977

    8 days ago

    This phone is such a step up from the z fold 1. Anyone who has the z fold 1, trade it up for the 3, I'll keep my z fold 3 until the 5 comes out

  • Willi Hansen

    Willi Hansen

    8 days ago

    Zuckerberg can't be arsed to make an Instagram app for the iPad. I doubt he'll make one that fits the screen of the Fold 3.

  • Bryan Turnbow

    Bryan Turnbow

    8 days ago

    Nifty… but 1.8k is a lot of money to spend on a phone that has a screen that can be damaged by the average human fingernail. Interested to see if this hurdle will ever be cleared.

  • Jay OhBro

    Jay OhBro

    8 days ago

    Great honest review man! (2nd day with my fold) love it. This shit is the future! Just wait till apple finally catches up....

  • Martín González

    Martín González

    8 days ago

    @9:38, couldn't agree with you more...
    It's cool that Samsung wanted to invest tons of money on R&D for their foldable phones, but the Note series is a superb family of devices.

  • Zubair Hasan

    Zubair Hasan

    8 days ago

    I'll buy an iPad Pro and iPhone 13 Pro with same budget. 🤷
    Both have good battery life than this. Both have 120Hz refresh rate now. Other than carrying two different devices you'd lose nothing.

  • Viper Racing

    Viper Racing

    8 days ago

    Gimmicky and pointless.

  • Jerry Partine

    Jerry Partine

    8 days ago

    It is too tick.

  • FUSION GP

    FUSION GP

    8 days ago

    this is the type of thing thats about 4-5 years away from perfection. I'll wait until my next upgrade to get one.

  • van decoteau

    van decoteau

    8 days ago

    Dear Samsung, Note Fold Ultra, lose the crease. Store the pen like in the note, bigger battery, 1TB Mirco SD card, beast the ram, and the processor. I'd be willing to pay $3K.

  • 10fantic

    10fantic

    9 days ago

    Yeah a slightly wider phone will be great, I think they could make it wider and give it better battery, improve the UDC, and improve the rear cameras, I'd probably consider one.

  • sTuD Gaming

    sTuD Gaming

    9 days ago

    came from studio video to see the intro

  • P4nDA

    P4nDA

    9 days ago

    Returned here to check the intro after watching the studio video

  • Chris

    Chris

    9 days ago

    that screen is so mushy, soft and... I don't know I don't like it at all