Nothing Ear(1) Review: See Through the Hype!

Published on Jul 29, 2021
Views 2 891 573
2 000

Behind the hype these $99 earbuds are actually a pretty great pickup.

MKBHD Merch: shop.MKBHD.com

Tech I'm using right now: www.amazon.com/shop/MKBHD

Intro Track: youtube.com/20syl
Playlist of MKBHD Intro music: goo.gl/B3AWV5

Earbuds provided by Nothing for review.

~
MKBHD
MKBHD
MKBHD

Marques Brownlee
Comments  
  • Jack Veal

    Jack Veal

    5 hours ago

    After the disaster of 5 weeks trying to receive this product I can confirm that they are amazing for the price. Great option for Android users.

  • Dugtrio Ramen

    Dugtrio Ramen

    Day ago

    No. Expectations ARE the joy

  • Lucas Nonn

    Lucas Nonn

    Day ago

    I got them🔥

  • Zaesha Riley-Jones

    Zaesha Riley-Jones

    2 days ago

    Brilliant as ever ✅

  • Tirth Patel

    Tirth Patel

    3 days ago

    which is better if samsung buds+ and nothing ear 1 both at same price....

  • GlitchYT

    GlitchYT

    3 days ago

    Really curious about its latency. Does it work well with FPS mobile games so I can use it when I feel like playing on my phone?

  • 👨🏻‍💻

    👨🏻‍💻

    4 days ago

    1:48 "... Oh god the glue..." How about oh god your nasty ear wax, clean them before doing a close up, disgusting! 🤢

  • Trevor Kwoba

    Trevor Kwoba

    5 days ago

    I'm losing my mind over here. Is it possible to disable the touch on these? And I'm not talking about the "long press feature". When I'm working out with my hoodie on they keep accidentally pausing 🤬.. please help!

  • Hamza Tola

    Hamza Tola

    5 days ago

    I got mine yesterday. Overall they are great but Noise cancelation is no where close to airpods pro.

    • Ando

      Ando

      3 days ago

      would you recommend? might buy some rn

  • Fruppet

    Fruppet

    6 days ago

    Sonic Welding?

  • Daniel Torres

    Daniel Torres

    8 days ago

    Why compare them AirPods Pro! Compare them with regular AirPods! Most people don’t have the pro.

  • Alexander Meden

    Alexander Meden

    9 days ago

    Can you do one with the OP buds Pro

  • yeahitsmesofkinwhat

    yeahitsmesofkinwhat

    9 days ago

    Aesthetically , they're cool. However, that just means most of the engineering cost went towards the look and they're like $50 headphones.

  • Purpose868

    Purpose868

    9 days ago

    Which is better between these and the Beats Studio Earpods?

  • Perrivan Audio

    Perrivan Audio

    9 days ago

    Mom: Stop buying things!
    Me: ... buys Nothing

  • Huber Robert

    Huber Robert

    11 days ago

    I ordered mine today ! I got to say what got me to them was the fact that they partner with teenage engineering ! I cant wait to test out the quality i will use them for every day listening and also for reference to my monitors

  • OneMad

    OneMad

    11 days ago

    It's fun how Teenage Engineering is way bigger than some people think (not knowing what they do). Apple tech with TE Design would go through the roof. Im glad nothing did pair up with them though. Keeps competition vital and fun. I will get these buds once they actually are available.

  • Aaron

    Aaron

    12 days ago

    Clean them before the close ups bro 😂

  • DevOps

    DevOps

    12 days ago

    Wow

  • TR

    TR

    12 days ago

    Flop

  • Sage Ross

    Sage Ross

    12 days ago

    anyone know what the black and white audio interface behind marques is on the table?

  • Abhi Bhyravajjula

    Abhi Bhyravajjula

    13 days ago

    Do the Master and Dynamic MW08 Sport review next!

  • Zaman Shojib

    Zaman Shojib

    13 days ago

    Apple fan: Nothing is better than Airpods
    Me: Agreed

  • 👨🏻‍💻

    👨🏻‍💻

    14 days ago

    That case seems really cheap and obnoxiously big 🤨

  • 👨🏻‍💻

    👨🏻‍💻

    14 days ago

    1:53 dude never mind the "glue" how about you clean your nasty earwax from them before doing a close up 🤢 gross

  • Charoen P

    Charoen P

    15 days ago

    We need next one butt buds

  • Quinlan Hogan

    Quinlan Hogan

    15 days ago

    It's a shame they're already impossible to get. This is exactly the type of design I love and want

  • Цане Димитров

    Цане Димитров

    15 days ago

    I hope Zack is at peace now😌

  • Fazlur Rahman

    Fazlur Rahman

    15 days ago

    Straight forward .. wish list on amazon . 😂😂 Thanks for reading ✌

  • habil tech solutions

    habil tech solutions

    15 days ago

    You hate too much

  • Gaurav Tandon

    Gaurav Tandon

    16 days ago

    Top notch video quality, especially the shot at 5:04 😍

  • diosh

    diosh

    16 days ago

    Mkbhd fake reviews, 👎👎👎👎

  • HentaiDaisuki

    HentaiDaisuki

    16 days ago

    Mic test?

  • MyShitOnYouTube

    MyShitOnYouTube

    17 days ago

    Is something wrong with my ear buds? I can hear the ANC working on the left side when not playing music. It's like a really low but repeating "bop" sound, bop-bop-bop-bop... The base is also much richer when using ANC compared to OFF.

  • ENTRY _INCOMPLETE

    ENTRY _INCOMPLETE

    17 days ago

    Sorry if this sounds racist but this guy is the most white-sounding black guy I've ever heard

    • Griffin J

      Griffin J

      6 days ago

      If you felt this was racist what was the reason for saying it?

  • Ghu Bjs

    Ghu Bjs

    18 days ago

    First you create hype then see through it. Lol

  • KH C

    KH C

    18 days ago

    they are probably using ultrasonic welding instead of glue to seal the case

  • RDP

    RDP

    19 days ago

    Well I got mine and I love them. They have updated the firmware so I suspect they have been improved since you got them? These things blow me away and I have all sorts of ear buds including Bose (various versions including the Noise Cancelling ones), Sennheisers, Jabra 75T's and many more and these are now my favourite earbuds.

    • RDP

      RDP

      16 days ago

      @Familjen Alcover although I do like the Jabra 75t I would without doubt buy the Nothing ear (1) . They are far better and they have already had another firmware update so the company is actively making them better. Having tested both side by side the Nothing ear (1) in my opion are so much richer in sound quality, has much better ANC and definitely stronger bass. I note guy who did the review here said the bass sound muddy but in my opinion thats far from the truth. Go watch Flossy Carter do his review on them. These are half the price of the jabra 75t here in Australia. I was also speaking to my son on the phone using them and he thought I was talking directly through the phone because the sound was so clear. He too came across very very clear. I plan to use every day now and in particular for video conferencing. And wihtout a lie they can sit in my ears all day and I dont even notice or feel them. The reviewer said he couldnt wear them longer than an hour!?.... Thats absolute baloney. I also ride a very fast electric scooter, the Apollo Pro 60v version and had no issue with outside noise with ANC on and they stuck firmly in my ears. You wont regret the purchase.

    • Familjen Alcover

      Familjen Alcover

      16 days ago

      I have been trying to find a video comparing these to the jabra 75t. Which ones would you buy?

  • burns0100

    burns0100

    19 days ago

    Who's ready for a yellow pair of earbuds and case in a few years time after sun damage turns the clear plastic into a gross dull stained yellow.

  • SUFIYAN ADAM

    SUFIYAN ADAM

    19 days ago

    This paid tout accepted he was dishonest in this promotional video on MrWhoseTheBoss channel

  • Atish Behera

    Atish Behera

    20 days ago

    Returned the product to Flipkart. This is horrible product. The right earbuds kept on draining battery far faster than left one. After one phone call(10mins) right bud came to 50% from 100%. When the left one stayed at 90%. that's the reason i returned it cause the right earbud kept in switching off every 45 mins or an hour. Rest features are good but this is unexceptable.

  • Khanh Nguyen

    Khanh Nguyen

    20 days ago

    Which phone did he use at 07:10? Thanks

  • Nithin

    Nithin

    21 day ago

    how are these compared to the Amazon ones

  • Ameh Faithfulness

    Ameh Faithfulness

    21 day ago

    this looks nothing like that
    ha!! nothing

  • YouTuber Baylee Xiong

    YouTuber Baylee Xiong

    21 day ago

    It ain't nothing

  • Gold 999

    Gold 999

    21 day ago

    I feel like it has better sound quality (esp the separation) than airpods pro. But noise cancellation is why i choose sony.
    There's a certain threshold when minor improvement of sound quality (major doesn't matter that much, had i care that much, i would've gone for Momentum.

    • Gold 999

      Gold 999

      19 days ago

      @DreadPirate Flappy i'm talking about the sound quality, which surprisingly is a bit better than airpods (in some aspects, especially separation between the high and mid). However, the anc (noise canc) is far apart between them, it's very distinct. Conclusion: to have good noise cancellation you have to pay premium. And because i held anc in high regards, I'm using sony, instead of other brands. [FOR ME, GOOD NOISE CANCELLATION IS MORE IMPORTANT THAN SOUND QUALITY, DUE TO MY FREQUENT FLYING AND TRAVELING]. If i care that much about sound quality, I would've used the momentum from sennheiser.

    • DreadPirate Flappy

      DreadPirate Flappy

      19 days ago

      Sony ones are literally 3 times the price though.

  • Randy Tayler

    Randy Tayler

    21 day ago

    So, no frequency response testing then? Afraid of scaring us with a graph?

  • Dark Star

    Dark Star

    21 day ago

    Airpods Pro cost 3 times more?
    Where do you live?
    Here in Germany Airpods Pro only cost 60-70 € more than the nothing ear 1 and I would pay more if you want the BEST BUDS on market!

  • eze ess

    eze ess

    22 days ago

    torn between these and the pixel buds a series

  • ma ma

    ma ma

    22 days ago

    This headphone look like cyber style

  • Dominic Omamuzo

    Dominic Omamuzo

    22 days ago

    The look of this wireless ear buds looks so transparent and design is fantastic

  • BIZI ILO

    BIZI ILO

    22 days ago

    just got mine...

  • vzr_ A

    vzr_ A

    22 days ago

    if off-white made tech it would look exactly like this

  • cuteypie415

    cuteypie415

    23 days ago

    Using it won’t recommend it if you are using iOS.

  • Abir

    Abir

    23 days ago

    what did u guys do when the earbuds didn't connect, or acted glitchy

  • Febin Rafi

    Febin Rafi

    23 days ago

    Now watching in Nothing ear 1.

  • guillermo alvarado

    guillermo alvarado

    24 days ago

    Half of the video all I heard was hype hype hype.

  • Shashwat

    Shashwat

    25 days ago

    I got these and heck yes they look dope AF

  • davo sam

    davo sam

    25 days ago

    MKBHD: "Sounds like a $100 pair of ear buds"
    Mrwhoosetheboss: "Sounds slightly better than Air Pods Pro"

    • DreadPirate Flappy

      DreadPirate Flappy

      19 days ago

      @Benji Bananas He also uses airpod pro's daily... as he says in the video.

    • eze ess

      eze ess

      22 days ago

      sound quality is subjective

    • Neo Linnstrabd

      Neo Linnstrabd

      24 days ago

      @Benji Bananas oh shit i had forgot the game thank you im finns downlaod that now

    • Benji Bananas

      Benji Bananas

      24 days ago

      @davo sam oh fr? Recently watched few vids from and he was kinda negative about Apple

    • davo sam

      davo sam

      24 days ago

      @Benji Bananas nope he always use iPhone for his daily driver

  • gaurav bucha

    gaurav bucha

    25 days ago

    Are these better than OnePlus buds pro?

  • Donny

    Donny

    25 days ago

    compare the nothing ear 1 to the oneplus buds pro please, or just do a review for the oneplus buds pro and just have a little section where you compare them please

  • cwuzii

    cwuzii

    25 days ago

    They look terrible, it’s a “unique design” for a reason. That clear will probably go yellow in time too…

  • cwuzii

    cwuzii

    25 days ago

    Over hyped from the paid video idiots like lew from unbox therapy… glad some real video makes like mkbhd still exist!

  • Nitish Raja

    Nitish Raja

    26 days ago

    That mask of yours looks dope 🔥

  • amin memon

    amin memon

    26 days ago

    what about oneus buds pro?

  • Kumodot

    Kumodot

    27 days ago

    I was sold when I thought it has a tiny oled embed , but them I passed when I discovered it’s just printed letters.

    • BenChuTV

      BenChuTV

      27 days ago

      Hahahhahahahahahhah

  • bmc490

    bmc490

    28 days ago

    Where can we buy them

  • Huzayfah M

    Huzayfah M

    28 days ago

    That clear case looks a bit flimsy

  • Replayed

    Replayed

    28 days ago

    They suck let’s be real

  • HapyDays

    HapyDays

    28 days ago

    Ah yes I got that one glimpse of ear wax when he did a close up look around the beginning clean yo ears man

  • OUTCAST GAMER

    OUTCAST GAMER

    28 days ago

    Honest review ❤️ though cannot beat airpods pro all those who have pros cheers😁

  • jon d

    jon d

    29 days ago

    why do they look like the eye of horus

  • Omertà

    Omertà

    29 days ago

    There is no hype I or anyone I know has experience. Only the hype being created by YouTubers.

  • Vasudev Vkm

    Vasudev Vkm

    29 days ago

    1:51 Am I the only one who saw the ear wax.😢🤢🤢

  • ZΔCK GRΞYHΔT

    ZΔCK GRΞYHΔT

    Month ago

    Which wireless earbuds has amazing sound quakity?

  • snoop dogg dank kush

    snoop dogg dank kush

    Month ago

    The late 90s/early 2000s clear casings are making a return everywhere.

    • snoop dogg dank kush

      snoop dogg dank kush

      2 days ago

      @MostToasties ethereal rn (:

    • MostToasties

      MostToasties

      3 days ago

      love it.

    • snoop dogg dank kush

      snoop dogg dank kush

      11 days ago

      @Jonny Messele ...

    • Jonny Messele

      Jonny Messele

      11 days ago

      I don't want that trend to return. It's so ugly. I'd rather have matte materials on all my products. Colour doesn't really matter that much, as long as the colours aren't too bright, but matte is perfect. Clear plastic fingerprint magnets are disgusting. Btw, I mean I don't like the case. The earbuds actually aren't that bad. They're pretty cool tbh

    • 98 Noir

      98 Noir

      14 days ago

      A lot of things are just recycled every decade or so.. just like fashion. Everyone is into picking up used shirts with sweat stains just to have the title “ vintage “

  • Shaunak Banerjee

    Shaunak Banerjee

    Month ago

    What about the call quality?????

  • 哇完了

    哇完了

    Month ago

    using this with mi 10u would be cool

  • MPIYER

    MPIYER

    Month ago

    Great video! Gosh great explanation

  • Alastair Campbell

    Alastair Campbell

    Month ago

    Care to comment on DMS’ review?

  • Will Margetson

    Will Margetson

    Month ago

    Ngl kinda expected the people to design arguably one of the best peices of music making equipment to go a little further but still good headphones

  • Jet Tran

    Jet Tran

    Month ago

    Retro vibes: anyone ever had a clear case Nintendo gameboy color?!

  • Anwor Ali

    Anwor Ali

    Month ago

    1:53 🤮

  • Niels Bom

    Niels Bom

    Month ago

    @1:53 Marques is human! (I see some earwax)

  • Emerson Uy

    Emerson Uy

    Month ago

    thanks for sharing and honest satisfying facts and opinion..would like to request a review on your end..the bw fye7 (blitzwolf) if you have extra time in you..and again thank you❤️❤️❤️

  • Enochanimates

    Enochanimates

    Month ago

    Cool

  • Lindsey Mcgeefr4

    Lindsey Mcgeefr4

    Month ago

    The unequal gorilla disappointingly play because sun weekly refuse including a wasteful cocoa. ratty, protective governor

  • david omolabi

    david omolabi

    Month ago

    Anyone noticed the dirt in those earphones

  • Jonathan Doku

    Jonathan Doku

    Month ago

    Production value always astonishes me.

  • Ernest Villarreal

    Ernest Villarreal

    Month ago

    I just noticed you never did a review on the wf-1000xm4, are we going to get one?

  • Jumbo Jet

    Jumbo Jet

    Month ago

    Actually this transparent plastic cases makes them look somehow cheap...

  • Jeffrey James

    Jeffrey James

    Month ago

    Will the nothing ear 1 be better than my infinity glide 500? In terms of sound quality

  • Hassan Khan

    Hassan Khan

    Month ago

    When is it coming out in the uk does anyone know?

  • Adam W

    Adam W

    Month ago

    Where is alert thats paid video?

  • Jay Shank 007

    Jay Shank 007

    Month ago

    In India, I was able to buy this for $67(bank offer and exchange with any wired earbud, like really cheap ones had laying around)..
    Although I'm waiting for Sony WF-1000XM4 to be released, Ear one is going to be my trash buds or secondary buds.. Hope they sound decent

    • Thomas Friedl

      Thomas Friedl

      Month ago

      Your trash buds? They arent that bad

  • Frame Counting

    Frame Counting

    Month ago

    Never heard of these until now. Guess hype has a different definition now....

  • jovanis vals

    jovanis vals

    Month ago

    I guess nobody see when he is showing the earbuds in the tip inside there was greasy dirt from his ear . That was nasty 🤮 🙄😅😂

  • Dragos C

    Dragos C

    Month ago

    They look a lot like Oppo W51, except for transparency.

  • Alex Kobylyanskiy

    Alex Kobylyanskiy

    Month ago

    Whats about connect to IOS?

  • i trench

    i trench

    Month ago

    Clear plastic looks so incredibly cheap. I know it’s not an easy design because of the glue and yadda, but at nearly 46 years old I’ve seen a lot of end-of-life tech jump to clear plastic when they’ve completely run out of other design ideas. The immediate example that comes to mind is the clear Conair corded phones the flooded the market just prior to the death of corded phones in the 90’s. So no thanks, I’m just not feeling these earbuds at all… especially that case. Blergh. Tacky, cheap, and novelty; next.