M1 iMac Review: Ultra Thin Design Choice!

Published on May 18, 2021
Views 4 607 625
3 400

Apple's M1 iMac is crazy thin. It's a polarizing design, but a great computer!

MKBHD Merch: shop.MKBHD.com

Tech I'm using right now: www.amazon.com/shop/MKBHD

Intro Track: youtube.com/20syl
Playlist of MKBHD Intro music: goo.gl/B3AWV5

Computer provided by Apple for review.

~
MKBHD
MKBHD
MKBHD

Marques Brownlee
Comments  
  • sam boy

    sam boy

    8 hours ago

    the guy in the apple add is not hydrated enough cos he sat from day to night

  • Switch TV

    Switch TV

    11 hours ago

    Its also thinner than the iphone 2g

  • Jack

    Jack

    17 hours ago

    The big "chin" is a massive let down in design in my opinion. It looks awful on an otherwise good looking machine.

  • Dardania Posts

    Dardania Posts

    20 hours ago

    M1X version is just around the corner.

  • BL Images

    BL Images

    2 days ago

    How much cost price right now ?27-inch iMac
    Up to
    10-core
    10th-generation Intel Core i9 processor

  • Jacob Michalek

    Jacob Michalek

    2 days ago

    Big iPad

  • Localboi

    Localboi

    3 days ago

    now that's thin

  • Clo

    Clo

    3 days ago

    I just don't see why it needs to be this thin, it's not like I'm going to carry it around. I'd rather have it be a little more thicc but with more useful stuff in there, more ports, etc.

  • Impulse SSJ

    Impulse SSJ

    3 days ago

    i actually do not mind the chin. i think it actually gives it a nice aesthetic

  • Maxime K-G

    Maxime K-G

    4 days ago

    I've always associated Apple with premium looking designs so to see them come out with something like this, let's just say I have an error in my brain whenever I look at it. I think it would've looked better if they kept the Apple logo in the middle on the front, at least keeping the bezel was a good choice though.

  • Mr. Wafflehead

    Mr. Wafflehead

    4 days ago

    Hey I have that same Bluetooth speaker, to the left of the mac, at 4:40
    Edit: wrong direction lol

  • Aicitel Gemfrone Ad Norf

    Aicitel Gemfrone Ad Norf

    4 days ago

    I wish they put a SD card for photos as I’m using Canon camera.. maybe I’ll wait for next year’s model

  • Mike B

    Mike B

    4 days ago

    Where is the iMac PRO ??? Please let it have black bezel...

  • Big Dog

    Big Dog

    6 days ago

    can i get a 32" mac pro with black borders and not white please. the white bezels are puke, and a bigger one would also be nice

  • Jennifer Gosnell

    Jennifer Gosnell

    6 days ago

    Fantastic review! I really appreciate the level of detail and the hands-on/practical explanations. I disagree with the chin/bezel colour part -- but that's only because I am so nostalgic for the 90's iMac designs :)

  • anicetune

    anicetune

    6 days ago

    PCs aren’t supposed to get thinner. They’re supposed to stay the same size, becoming more powerful.

  • SK Developer LiveGaming

    SK Developer LiveGaming

    6 days ago

    that's amazing

  • Monney Conde

    Monney Conde

    6 days ago

    what's funny is that I've been trying to get the blue lighting to usb c that came with the blue iMac and cant find it

  • Carlo Baluta

    Carlo Baluta

    7 days ago

    The "chin" is a design feature.
    A Porsche looks like a Porsche because it has the same lines... how many people would still buy it if it suddenly looked like a Tesla? Without the chin it'll look like any other monitor out there.
    Love it or hate it, I think it's there to stay.

  • 7 days ago

    one downside: barely any games, and no boot camp for windows (yet)

  • happypips

    happypips

    7 days ago

    Old 27" Apple Thunderbolt Display beat this new desing on miles.

  • TRI

    TRI

    7 days ago

    Is it just me or does the intro music sound like bagels?

  • Average Youtube Fan

    Average Youtube Fan

    8 days ago

    So apple just told us they can replace the iMac for a tablet. Where's my desktablet?

  • Keyyyyzzzz

    Keyyyyzzzz

    9 days ago

    Great review as always! As an Applephile (since the 2c) watching the peeling away of two large plastic protective coatings and seeing them drop to floor as waste is disappointing for a company that proclaims proudly of its leading environmental policies…

  • Ralphsrock12

    Ralphsrock12

    9 days ago

    Design really looks cheaper although it really is, it’s just like a macbook. gladly I had the last intel imac.

  • Angela Holden

    Angela Holden

    9 days ago

    I'm the target demographic for this, and I'm going to replace my 2015 MacBook Pro with it. xoxo

  • Clement Siby

    Clement Siby

    9 days ago

    That intro was a good promo video for the iMac.

  • Credo V Daniels

    Credo V Daniels

    10 days ago

    what's the beat you play in the begining

  • 3Box Collate

    3Box Collate

    11 days ago

    I am watching your vids on Nebula. Will you be doing a review of the current M1 Mini ? - looks good and can link up with old iMac - which I see as a bonus

  • Connor McAndrew

    Connor McAndrew

    11 days ago

    Raging hard on when you peeled that of the screen

  • Faizan Mohsin

    Faizan Mohsin

    12 days ago

    Silent Intro

  • Goodnight Advanced

    Goodnight Advanced

    12 days ago

    I wont buy it. Thanks!

  • Daniel Gerson

    Daniel Gerson

    14 days ago

    I agree with the premise that Apple compromised functionality at the altar of thinness. It makes no sense to me. In the 13 years I’d sold computers (I’m out of the game for good), not a single customer ever asked me for the thinnest desktop available, but Apple can’t seem to help themselves.
    And look at the functionality lost or externalized for that thinness, and the utterly unnecessary engineering problems they had to solve, as a result.

  • Dan Scribr

    Dan Scribr

    14 days ago

    The real question has to be trusting this device for video editing, web developing, app developing & designing graphics on multiple platforms?

  • Midnight Ninja

    Midnight Ninja

    14 days ago

    24 inch might've been good 11 years ago but today 27 inch is considered reasonable

  • Julian Sanchez

    Julian Sanchez

    15 days ago

    I SHEEP

  • Julian Sanchez

    Julian Sanchez

    15 days ago

    WINDOWS IS BETTER

  • Julian Sanchez

    Julian Sanchez

    15 days ago

    APPLE SUCKS

  • BL Images

    BL Images

    15 days ago

    Good morning ! which iMac i could use with 6k blackmagic camera including Atem Mini Pro ISO, if you can help me with the details, thanks

  • tmsmqwx

    tmsmqwx

    15 days ago

    I HAVE NO PROBLEM WITH THE CHIN. HOWEVER, IT LOOKS NAKED W/O THE LOGO. I'D PROBABLY ADORN IT WITH ONE OF THOSE COLOR-COORDINATED STICKERS THEY THREW IN THE BOX.

  • BigTruckBigMuscle

    BigTruckBigMuscle

    15 days ago

    Must be reviewed by MKHB before I purchase...

  • Lawrence Fearon

    Lawrence Fearon

    16 days ago

    Touch ID Magic Keyboard is hot but a backlit full size Magic Keyboard would be the sexist. ❤️‍🔥⌨️❤️‍🔥

  • Phani Raj KS

    Phani Raj KS

    16 days ago

    Apple intros hit different!!!

  • Michael Whitfield

    Michael Whitfield

    16 days ago

    Mkbhd u peeved out on this unboxing 😆

  • Цане Димитров

    Цане Димитров

    16 days ago

    that chin tho

  • Amber’s Kitchen

    Amber’s Kitchen

    17 days ago

    Love your video! I’ve also just uploaded a video of the blue iMac!

  • ana z

    ana z

    17 days ago

    who cares about black vessels

  • Frankie Chong

    Frankie Chong

    18 days ago

    Now that you put it into perspective, the chin and the lack of ports in the baseline models are deal breakers.

  • Zac’s channel

    Zac’s channel

    18 days ago

    The sound of the intro is amaze

  • Ramadhan Gerry Akbar

    Ramadhan Gerry Akbar

    18 days ago

    For those who wondering why Apple still put Apple logo behind:
    I think because this kind of computer is perfectly to be placed on face-to-face desk like desk in your boss's room
    Really good for impression

  • 18 days ago

    the power cable goes through the hole at the back

  • Dave Keliher

    Dave Keliher

    19 days ago

    I did not what to expect from your review. I had already purchased a $1400 iMac for a family member and am waiting to hear about the iMac Pro... But back to you. Your presentation, the thoroughness and details and delivery and editing and shots and audio and pacing and--you are really good at this. Thank you.-d

  • jimar stribling

    jimar stribling

    19 days ago

    I wasn't expecting this to be that giant

  • William McRae

    William McRae

    20 days ago

    i would much rather have this than a mini with a screen because i try to be a minimalist - and nothing is messier than a mini with 8 peripherals plugged in to it. also i have never owned an external display that is as good as what they put into an imac and the build quality of apple hardware is solid and it makes you feel better to use it instead of some cheap plastic external walmart display that looks out of place, has bad color and creaks when you adjust it. inspite of what youtube reviewers seem to think this thing is one of the most beautiful and well designed computers you can buy. also this thing would be very easy to put into your back seat when its time to move and it takes up almost no space and you dont have 8 extra gadgets and cables to store and keep up with.

  • Thomas Wilkinson

    Thomas Wilkinson

    20 days ago

    I agree on the thin comment 100% once in place the thickness is pretty irrelevant. Wouldn’t have given more space for more ports, I love ports on a desktop.

  • KennyKennTV

    KennyKennTV

    20 days ago

    Rather get a macbook and connect a monitor to it

  • ollie lane

    ollie lane

    20 days ago

    I've just brought this new IMac for photo editing, and things like the white basal and the chin really don't bother me and at the end of the day, it's how it performs not how it looks.

  • Albert Aliji

    Albert Aliji

    20 days ago

    Together with amazing reviews, i gotta say your videos are incredibly clean! That minimalistic presentation with informative content just makes you wanna watch your videos all day. Great fucking work!

  • MaZahir Rahim

    MaZahir Rahim

    21 day ago

    Someone should make a screen protector with black bezels if it's not a thing yet

  • S Visser

    S Visser

    21 day ago

    Lame that they couldn’t put in a memory card slot for all the photographers that use Macs.

  • FP

    FP

    21 day ago

    Colourful would have been ok if at least they were all in one colour but the lack of ports of different sizes killed for me. In practical terms you have this unnecessarily thin model with all sorts of things attached to the back with adapters and what not so you can still use your older stuff.
    Will wait for the follow up model. Touch screen next?

  • Srinivasan Ranganathan

    Srinivasan Ranganathan

    21 day ago

    You can buy a 8 core, 16 threads Ryzen 7 3700x desktop rather than wasting money on on iMac!!! The world has changed to AMD CPUs , what about you??

  • kigo

    kigo

    22 days ago

    Something about the bigger Apple logo on the back ticks me off… looks unbalanced. Kinda ruined it for me 😕

  • kaush 117

    kaush 117

    23 days ago

    if apple believed in making things a little fat for somethings better they would have never made MacBook air

  • Janet M

    Janet M

    23 days ago

    I actually just got the blue one today and I love it. I was going in for the purple one but they didn’t have it, then I saw the yellow one in person and loved it too, but it they didn’t have it either, I ended up getting the blue one bc it’s my favorite color and it looked nice as well. I actually like the white vessels and the chin and the glossiness lol

    • Full Of Information

      Full Of Information

      7 days ago

      I am going to take the peach(or pink i don't know colours that well). I like it. It looks different from other computers

  • Matthew Lashua

    Matthew Lashua

    23 days ago

    I love the chin :) and the m1 is fire you can’t go wrong!!! Value value value if your a content creator the m1 macs are priceless and worth upgrading too! Final Cut Pro x users will be in awe of the speed in which you can edit even the toughest 4K footage!!!

  • Wilona Joy

    Wilona Joy

    23 days ago

    Love love your review Marques

  • Nathan Brown

    Nathan Brown

    24 days ago

    You know the Cinema Display from like 2007? Yeah, that's what this should've been except flat on the back and thinner ofc

  • ARYAN

    ARYAN

    24 days ago

    idk they keep tryna make it thinner i really dgaf about how thin it is it should just be awesome...

  • Auronedge Vicks

    Auronedge Vicks

    24 days ago

    restoring time machine backup at 2mb/s....

  • Unlisted

    Unlisted

    24 days ago

    I have a late 2015 model with a 5k display and intel icore7 and wouldn't trade up for this one.. why? I love my ports on the back.

  • Dhuha Shah

    Dhuha Shah

    25 days ago

    Does anyone know if the new iMacs can be used to screen mirror pc?

  • Nabhan Abdullatif

    Nabhan Abdullatif

    25 days ago

    I got the high end model with the highest possible specs and it's an absolute joy to use. I disagree with and don't understand the comments about the design, as a designer myself I find it to be a major upgrade from the previous iMacs, i love the white bezels much more than the previous black ones which used to be an eye sore, the white ones really make the screen stand out and I am in awe of how light and thin it is, the previous models were so bulky and heavy. Overall it's just a massive upgrade especially the high end model and would definitely recommend it.

  • Aaron The arrow guy

    Aaron The arrow guy

    25 days ago

    I have the same one

  • Ian Woollard

    Ian Woollard

    26 days ago

    I don’t really see it as a device fixed to one area of the house. It’s easy to move around to wherever you choose to work. Just a big iPad without a battery 🤣

  • Dark Room

    Dark Room

    27 days ago

    Well, Windows background music on a Mac, what were they thinking?

  • SuperTrooper 435

    SuperTrooper 435

    27 days ago

    they should have at least incorporated a nice illuminating Apple Logo in the chin area - as an homage to the older Apple Powerbooks and Macbooks which had the illuminating apple in the back.....

  • Mikesell Family Madness

    Mikesell Family Madness

    27 days ago

    I love how honest your review seems. Thank you 😊

  • A BK

    A BK

    28 days ago

    You would care how thin it is if you don't face the wall when you sit behind your desk.

  • Elliott Lee

    Elliott Lee

    28 days ago

    Having used a Touchbar Mac for the last 4 years, I'm used to only having Type-C now and have all the dongles already, so safe to say the USB-C only is not a concern

  • Antonio Ingram

    Antonio Ingram

    28 days ago

    We’re u get that desk at bro

  • Alex Lin

    Alex Lin

    28 days ago

    Hi mark ass brownly

  • Mahlon Bullis

    Mahlon Bullis

    29 days ago

    How I know this machine isn't for me: the only thing said about the hardware or software is that 'it's good' while 99% of the review is spent on how it looks in your room.

  • BC J

    BC J

    29 days ago

    Yeah, it really needs that Apple logo on the chin. Maybe that's where the blue sticker was supposed to go. It just looks naked and pointless without it lol.

  • Mace Windu X JumboStudios

    Mace Windu X JumboStudios

    Month ago

    One reason I love these reviews, is that he doesn't spend 10 minutes just unboxing the product.

  • Kay Flip

    Kay Flip

    Month ago

    I think the chin is meant to be a nod to the imac designs of the past. It wasn't necessary, it's just an Apple trait. if they just had a thicker bezel, it would look like any regular PC.

  • Cambo-G

    Cambo-G

    Month ago

    1:15 Try not to laugh 😂

  • alcylon

    alcylon

    Month ago

    Keeping my old Mac 27" lots of usb ports and 1gb ssd disk. 😂

  • alcylon

    alcylon

    Month ago

    Next choise from Apple 27" 64 gb internal and 1 usb port

  • Kleiner Teufel

    Kleiner Teufel

    Month ago

    It's stunning. Simple and beautiful form. LOVE the white bezel. And the chin let's you know it's an Apple. Without it, it's just a monitor sitting on your table. And with a black bezel it would look cheap and horrible.

  • Harsha Reddy

    Harsha Reddy

    Month ago

    Now a days your reviews are not so great , disappointed 😔😔

  • 普劳德利

    普劳德利

    Month ago

    开售当天给我老婆买了一台紫色,颜色是真的好看... 只是强烈建议有需要的朋友不要买 8G 内存的配置,非常后悔... 关键是还不可以自己换内存条。

  • Team Cardano

    Team Cardano

    Month ago

    Don’t like the design, looks kinda girly to me.

  • Noda Tech

    Noda Tech

    Month ago

    Mkbhd is hero

  • Rishabh Yadav

    Rishabh Yadav

    Month ago

    How about pro xdr display 2021

  • ditty 888

    ditty 888

    Month ago

    The imac was realesed in 1999 as a home desktop computer it had a decent amount of storage and had many generations just like this one

  • Camille

    Camille

    Month ago

    I agree so much with this video.. like i reeeeaaaally the chin looks terrible (to me imac have always looked bad because of that..) and also i would have loved a black version. If those two conditions were met I would have bought one (I have many Apple products but never had an iMac 1 because of work which is a windows pc and 2 because of actually the chin). I HOPE THE OTHER ONES WILL HAVE NO CHIN AND BE BLACK LIKE A MATTE BLACK

  • Adrian

    Adrian

    Month ago

    Is just a very dumb design 🤦‍♂️ I’m surprised they didn’t sold that ugly power brick separately so they can make more money 😂

  • Nate blu

    Nate blu

    Month ago

    im not gonna lie the chin in the computer is ugly.. wished it was all on flushed screen or at least the same color as the back of the laptop instead of it being 2-toned

  • Mark Chandler

    Mark Chandler

    Month ago

    As always, honest and awesome. Thanks